Greens growing in Oxfordshire

More and more people are voting for the Green Party in Oxfordshire, and hundreds are joining the Oxfordshire Green Party.

In the General Election on 7 May, Green Party candidates in the 6 Oxfordshire constituencies got 2.5 times as many votes as in 2010. 4 had their deposits returned, as they got more than 5% of the vote, and in Oxford East we got 11.6%, 5X as much as in 2010.

In the last year, Oxfordshire Green Party membership has gone up nearly 4 times. It has doubled since 1 Jan. 2015.

General election


Local elections

South Oxfordshire
Kidmore End and Whitchurch Peter Dragonetti 24.95%
Berinsfield Mark Stevenson 19.64%
Wallingford Sue Roberts 16.83%
Watlington Tom Bindoff 15.88%
Sandford and the Wittenhams David Scott 15.70%
Woodcote and Rotherfield Andrew Wallis 11.01%
Garsington and Horspath Robin Bennett 11.00%
Goring James Norman 11.00%
Benson and Crowmarsh Andrea Powell 7.88%
Sonning Common Alison Smart 7.00%
Cholsey Sam Casey-Rerhaye 6.42%
Thame Robert Hughes 5.58%
Henley-on-Thames Elisabeth Geake 4.07%
Ian Petrie 3.61%
Richard Rule 2.24%
All 3 9.92%

Elected parish councillors in green.

The Astons & Heyfords Jenny Tamblyn 14.61%
Cropready Shaun Greenslade-Hibbert 10.65%
Yarnton, Gosford & Water Eaton Fiona Mawson 9.27%
Bicester Town Ian Middleton 9.06%
Hook Norton Colin Clark 8.27%
Bicester North John Haywood 7.91%
Banbury Grimsbury & Castle Jack Barton 7.86%
Kidlington North Paul Mackilligin 7.59%
Banbury Easington Naomi Kanetsuka 6.61%
Banbury Ruscote Christopher Manley 6.59%
Bicester South Graham Newell 6.37%
Kidlington South Rita White 6.00%
Banbury Hardwick Andrew Arris 5.84%
Bicester West Suzanne Williams 4.16%


West Oxfordshire
Witney North Brigitte Hickman 14.31%
Eynsham and Cassington Karl Gay 13.58%
Stonesfield and Tackley Harriet Kopinska 13.32%
Charlbury and Finstock Celia Kerslake 10.82%
Witney East Kate Griffin 9.93%
Bampton and Clanfield Maurice Fantato 9.64%
Alvescot and Filkins Alma Tumilowicz 8.15%
Chipping Norton Charles Averill 8.14%
Kingham, Rollright and Enstone Nicholas Goodwin 8.09%
Hailey, Minster Lovell & Leafield (2) Andrew Wright 7.98%
Witney South Alex Friend 7.82%
Witney Central Jenny Guildford 7.75%
Witney West Rosanna Pearson 6.57%
Carterton North West Andy King 5.82%
Carterton South Tony Barrett 5.60%
Carterton North East Paul Creighton 5.25%
Witney W and Bampton (OCC) William Owen 7.81%


Vale of the White Horse
Abingdon Abbey Northcourt Tobias Fett 11.72%
Wantage Charlton Kevin Harris 9.83%
Watchfield and Shrivenham Mary Wiltshire 9.31%
Faringdon Steven Curd 9.09%
Abingdon Dunmore Richard Bullock 7.94%
Abingdon Caldecott Halima Brewer 7.45%
Kennington and Radley Chris Henderson 7.18%
Abingdon Peachcroft Michael Ellwood 4.78%
Paul Norton 3.90%
All 2 8.68%
Great Faringdon PC Alan Meredith  

Green surge in membership



Showing 1 reaction

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
  • Mark John
    commented 2015-06-09 22:54:29 +0100
    When will Didcot be put on the political map? We’re now bigger than Wantage!

Join our mailing list for news, events and more...

Our Privacy Policy

Sign in or Register